1990 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Holland Dozier and Holland

Holland, Dozier, Holland

  • Year:
  • Inducted by:
    Diana Ross (The Supremes)
  • Category:
    Ahmet Ertegun Award

Motown as we know it would not exist without Holland-Dozier-Holland.

Born and raised in Detroit, Holland, Dozier and Holland cranked out hits with the regularity of the auto plants they grew up surrounded by. Yet however machine-like they were in their songwriting, at the core of each hit is a throbbing, aching, unmistakably human heart.

Hall of Fame Essay


Andy Schwartz

The Supremes' "Stop! In the Name of Love" and "You Can't Hurry Love." The Four Tops' "Reach Out I'll Be There." Marvin Gaye's "How Sweet It Is to Be Loved by You." Martha and the Vandellas' "Heat Wave."

Each of these songs was written by the team of Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland, and according to BMI statistics, each has been broadcast or performed more than 1 million times.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Program Cover 1990
1 of 1

This website uses cookie data. Read our Privacy Policy for more information. By using this website you agree to our Privacy Policy.